Loading Events

Second International Workshop on Mechanics of Energy Materials (IWMEM 2017)

November 8, 2017 - November 10, 2017

Global energy consumption is continuously rising and is predominantly reliant on diminishing fossil-fuel resources. The mechanics of energy materials is crucial in providing efficient and reliable means to convert, store and transport sustainably produced energy.

The workshop aims to provide a platform to disseminate and promote state-of-art research,  facilitate scientific discussion, and establish collaboration, in the field of mechanics of energy materials. The first of this workshop series was held in Sydney, Australia, November 2016.

This workshop focuses on the mechanics problems encountered in:
• Batteries
• Energy harvesting
• Fuel cells
• Geothermal energy
• Nuclear materials
• Photovoltaic cells
• Thermal energy storage
• Thermoelectric materials

The workshop will be co-hosted by The University of Sydney, Tsinghua University and CAS Suzhou Institute of Nano-Tech and Nano-Bionics (SINANO) .

The workshop brochure can be downloaded here. Please submit your extended abstract (1-2 pages) to the workshop organiser by 15 August, 2017 (extended to 15 September, 2017).

Important dates:

  • Submission deadline for extended abstracts (1-2 page): 15 August 2017 (extended to 15 September, 2017)
  • Acceptance of the contributions: 31 August 2017
  • Registration open: 15 August 2017
  • Early-bird registration ends: 1 October 2017

Event Details

  • When:

    9.00am - 5.00pm

  • Where:

    Wisdom Centre Tower A 1202, Floor 12, 10 Yueliangwan Road, Suzhou

  • Contact:

    Yixiang Gan

  • More info:


    • Dr Yixiang Gan (The University of Sydney, Australia)
    • Prof Changqing Chen (Tsinghua University, China)
    • Prof Weibang Lu (SINANO CAS, Suzhou, China)
    • Prof Kejie Zhao (Purdue University, USA)

    • Dr Ratna Kumar Annabattula (Indian Institute of
    Technology Madras, India)
    • Dr Laurence Brassart (Monash University)
    • Prof Itai Einav (University of Sydney)
    • Prof Marc Kamlah (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology,
    • A/Prof Chengwang Lei (University of Sydney)
    • A/Prof Chris Ling (University of Sydney)
    • Prof Songlin Liu (ASIPP, CAS)
    • A/Prof Luming Shen (University of Sydney)
    • Prof Jie Wang (Zhejiang University)
    • Prof Xiaoming Wang (CSIRO, Australia)
    • Prof Dayu Zhou (Dalian University of Technology)