新闻_

微软与悉尼大学成为量子合作伙伴

2017年07月25日

悉尼大学7月25日宣布与微软公司签署量子计算合作伙伴长期协议,设立悉尼量子纳米科学实验室“悉尼Q站”,创建在悉尼乃至在澳大利亚都无可匹敌的量子研究环境与基础。

微软公司的这项长期投资将带来最先进的设备,招募更多工作人员,帮助国家培养科学与工程人才,使关键研究项目资金集中于悉尼大学,并确保澳大利亚在新兴的“量子经济”中扮演重要角色。

微软人工智能和研究组组长David Pritchard、微软量子建筑与计算组合伙建筑师Douglas Carmean参加了在悉尼大学的纳米科学中心举行的发布仪式。

悉尼Q站由悉尼大学物理系David Reilly教授领导,位于悉尼纳米科学中心内。微软在全世界只有4个这样的实验室,其他三个分别位于普渡大学、代尔夫特理工大学、哥本哈根大学。

David Reilly教授(左二)与悉尼Q站团队成员——高级研究科学家Maja Cassidy博士、项目经理James Rabeau博士、行政管理人员Alexis George、博士后研究人员John Hornibrook博士——在澳大利亚纳米级科技所的旗舰建筑里

David Reilly教授出生于悉尼,在哈佛大学完成博士后研究后回到澳大利亚,他坚信量子计算是21世纪最重要的机会,具有使全球经济和社会实现转型的潜力。

David Reilly教授和他的团队在悉尼Q站的工作重点是让量子计算从实验室走入现实世界并产生真正的影响。“我们现在可以从数学模型和理论前进到应用工程,实现重要升级。”他说。

David Reilly教授的团队还展示了他们在量子计算上的研究成果——自旋量子技术如何在不远的将来利用纳米钻石的量子特性来帮助发现和追踪早期癌症。

来自微软的David Pritchard先生介绍了微软公司在量子上付出的加倍努力,这是微软人工智能和研究组的一个关键战略核心。微软量子计算工作的领导者是Xbox(家用电视游戏机)和HoloLens(全息计算机兼头盔显示屏)的创造者Todd Holmdahl。

Pritchard先生说,与悉尼大学的合作伙伴关系很重要,因为微软正在期待到达一个关键节点,在这里理论需要实践来接续,并由系统级抽象和聚焦于升级的应用工程工作来补充。

“当你从事的项目可能会产生重要的、前所未有的影响时,永远都会有风险因素,我们正处在拐点上,在这里我们有机会采取行动。”Pritchard先生说。

微软华盛顿雷德蒙总部的Douglas Carmean先生认为,通过与世界顶尖大学的合作,微软对量子计算的雄心勃勃的目标进一步升级了。

“40多年前,计算革命开始真正扎根,在实现了‘人人拥有个人电脑’的愿景后,微软现在聚焦于一个更有影响潜力的东西——让量子跳跃起来。” Carmean先生说。

“我们在量子计算方面的重要投资是微软与学术界的一项合作努力,它终将加速从纯研究向有用量子机器发展的转变。”

(左至右)悉尼大学校长施迈克博士、微软的Douglas Carmean先生、悉尼大学David Reilly教授和微软的David Pritchard先生在悉尼大学的悉尼纳米科学实验室里

悉尼大学校长施迈克博士称David Reilly教授是少有的国际研究领导者之一,他们正在探索量子透镜如何为当前的迫切问题带来新的见解,以及为尚未识别的问题提供洞见。

“Reilly教授帮助在悉尼建造了一个国际量子中心,随之而来的是与产业界领袖们的新式合作,整个大学在前沿研究方面的多学科方法是这一成就的基础,我们的澳大利亚纳米级科技所就是一个具体表现。”施迈克博士说。

“悉尼拥有先进的纳米科技设备和独特的商业化路径,量子经济正在这里兴起,它有潜力为新南威尔士和澳大利亚创造无限的教育和经济机会,正如硅谷在加利福利亚所起的作用一样。”

分享

Related articles

News_

Microsoft and University of Sydney forge quantum partnership

July 25, 2017

The University of Sydney today announces the signing of a multi-year quantum computing partnership with Microsoft, creating an unrivalled setting and foundation for quantum research in Sydney and Australia.

The long-term Microsoft investment will bring state of the art equipment, allow the recruitment of new staff, help build the nation’s scientific and engineering talent, and focus significant research project funding into the University, assuring the nation a key role in the emerging “quantum economy.”

David Pritchard, Chief of Staff for Microsoft’s Artificial Intelligence and Research Group and Douglas Carmean, Partner Architect of Microsoft’s Quantum Architectures and Computation (QuArC) group, participated in the announcement at  the University of Sydney’s Nanoscience Hub. 

The official establishment of Station Q Sydney today embeds Microsoft’s commitment to kickstarting the emergence of a quantum economy by partnering with the University to develop a premier centre for quantum computing.

Directed by Professor David Reilly from the School of Physics and housed inside the $150 million Sydney Nanoscience Hub, Station Q Sydney joins Microsoft’s other experimental research sites at Purdue University, Delft University of Technology, and the University of Copenhagen. There are only four labs of this kind in the world.

Sydney-born Professor Reilly – who completed a postdoctoral fellowship at Harvard University before returning to Australia – asserts that quantum computing is one of the most significant opportunities in the 21st century, with the potential to transform the global economy and society at large.

“The deep partnership between Microsoft and the University of Sydney will allow us to help build a rich and robust local quantum economy by attracting more skilled people, investing in new equipment and research, and accelerate progress in quantum computing – a technology that we believe will disrupt the way we live, reshaping national and global security and revolutionising medicine, communications and transport,” Professor Reilly said.

The focus of Professor Reilly and his team at Station Q Sydney is to bring quantum computing out of the laboratory and into the real world where it can have genuine impact: “We’ve reached a point where we can move from mathematical modelling and theory to applied engineering for significant scale-up,” Professor Reilly said.

Leveraging his research in quantum computing, Professor Reilly’s team has already demonstrated how spin-off quantum technologies can be used in the near-future to help detect and track early-stage cancers using the quantum properties of nanodiamonds. Watch the video animation.

Microsoft’s David Pritchard outlined the company’s redoubled quantum efforts, a key strategic pillar within Microsoft’s AI and Research Group; the quantum computing effort is being led by Todd Holmdahl, the creator of the Xbox and HoloLens.

Mr Pritchard said the partnership with the University of Sydney was important because Microsoft is looking forward to reaching the critical juncture where theory and demonstration need to segue and be complemented by systems-level abstraction and applied engineering efforts focused on scaling.

“There’s always an element of risk when you are working on projects with the potential to make momentous and unprecedented impact; we’re at the inflection point now where we have the opportunity to do that,” Mr Pritchard said.

(L-R) University of Sydney Vice-Chancellor Dr Michael Spence, Douglas Carmean, Professor David Reilly and David Pritchard from Microsoft at the University’s Sydney Nanoscience Lab.

Douglas Carmean, based at Microsoft’s Redmond, Washington headquarters, characterised Microsoft’s ambitious goals for quantum computing as necessarily intensified and augmented through collaboration with the world’s leading universities.

“It was only 40 years ago that the computing revolution really took hold, realising Microsoft’s vision for personal computers to be on every desktop; Microsoft is now focused on what we see as potentially even more impactful – making the quantum leap,” Mr Carmean said.

“Our significant investment in quantum computing is a collaborative effort between Microsoft and academia and this is what will ultimately accelerate the transition from pure research to the development of useful quantum machines.”

University of Sydney Vice-Chancellor and Principal, Dr Michael Spence, described Professor Reilly as one of a select few international research leaders exploring how the quantum lens could throw fresh light on today’s pressing issues, as well as yield insights into problems yet to be identified.

“Professor Reilly has helped create an international quantum hub in Sydney, resulting in a game-changing collaboration with industry leaders, building also on our whole-of-University commitment to multidisciplinary approaches to frontier research – as embodied in our Australian Institute for Nanoscale Science and Technology (AINST),” Dr Spence said.

“With cutting-edge nanoscience facilities and unique pathways to commercialisation, Sydney is now experiencing the emergence of a quantum economy, which has the potential to create untold educational and economic opportunities for NSW and Australia, just as Silicon Valley has done in California.”

Share

  • News_

    • September 19, 2017
      World-first microchip: ‘storing lightning inside thunder’

      Our researchers are turning optical data into readable soundwaves As we churn through more data, cloud computing centres are overheating. Photonic chip technology offers a way forward for our insatiable appetite for information.          World-first transfer of light to acoustic...

    • September 13, 2017
      University of Sydney graduates again rated Australia’s most employable

      Ranked #1 in Australia and 4th in the world for graduate employability University of Sydney graduates have been named the most employable in Australia for the third year running and in the top 5 globally, according to the 2018 QS...

Related articles

  • July 20, 2017
    University of Sydney ranks number one in public health

    The University of Sydney today announces the signing of a multi-year quantum computing partnership with Microsoft, creating an unrivalled setting and foundation for quantum research in Sydney and Australia. The long-term Microsoft investment will bring state of the art equipment, allow the...

  • July 22, 2017
    Flame tree joins jacaranda companion in Quadrangle

    The University of Sydney today announces the signing of a multi-year quantum computing partnership with Microsoft, creating an unrivalled setting and foundation for quantum research in Sydney and Australia. The long-term Microsoft investment will bring state of the art equipment, allow the...