新闻_

新院长为电气与信息工程学院领跑

2018年06月20日
朱建国教授用智慧与热情领导创新
杰出教授朱建国加入悉尼大学,成为新一任电气与信息工程学院院长,并期待与他的团队一起融入这个令人兴奋的新环境之中,开启一个新的事业。

入职刚满一个月,朱建国教授就热切地想要自己的学院站在电气与信息工程创新的前沿。他对推动多学科与跨学科研究抱有特别的热情,比如满足未来技术需求的物联网应用和智能电网。

“悉尼大学的声誉、员工的素质和大学丰富的历史吸引了我。”朱教授说。

“我很盼望与学院的出色同事一起工作,把这里正在进行的研究带入下一个阶段。”

朱教授将致力于以学院现有实力为基础、通过他在中国和全世界的关系网络发展学院与顶尖大学的关系。他的“追逐难题”的哲学、他的研究经验和获得的诸多荣誉都反映出他对于识别新机会和站在创新前沿的热情。

朱教授曾就职于悉尼科技大学,担任过该校电气、机械与机电一体化系统学院院长,电气与数码工程学院的绿色能源与汽车创新中心(CGEVI)主任,以及该院的电机与电力电子中心(CEMPE)主任。

朱教授也担任了一系列国际性荣誉职位,包括美国的威斯康星大学麦迪逊工程学院、德国的国家计量研究所和中国的浙江大学。

在CGEVI和CEMPE担任主任期间,朱教授创立了强大的电力工程研究项目,覆盖磁性材料、电磁领域分析、电机、电力电子、电气传动、生物医药仪器、电动车、可更新能源系统和智能微电网控制。

作为一个研究者,朱教授一直是大量研究项目的主要成员,包括11个ARC项目、49个CRC项目、产业项目等。他的出版作品包括两本专著、10篇章节、281篇被引用期刊文章、617篇会议论文。在最近五年里,他发表了119篇被引用期刊文章,其中21篇刊登于影响因子7以上的杂志,指导了超过10名研究人员,以及访问学者和HDR学生。

一个价值数百万元的工程与信息技术新区正在大学兴建,在第一个阶段,工程与信息技术学部担任领跑。这一令人兴奋的新发展将为员工带来创新的工作区,为学生和研究人员带来先进的设施,并为一个住在校园内和校园附近的学生社群提供支持。

分享

Related articles

News_

New Head setting the pace for Electrical and Information Engineering

June 20, 2018
Professor Jian Guo Zhu will lead innovation with wisdom and passion
Distinguished Professor Jian Guo Zhu has joined the University of Sydney as the new Head of School for Electrical and Information Engineering and looks forward to transitioning his team into exciting new facilities with a fresh agenda.

Now in place for just over a month, Professor Zhu is keen for the School to be at the forefront of innovation in electrical and information engineering. He is particularly passionate about promoting multidisciplinary and transdisciplinary research, such as Internet of Things (IoT) applications and smart energy grids to meet future technology demands.

“I was attracted to the role because of the University of Sydney’s reputation, the quality of its staff and the University’s rich history,” says Professor Zhu.

“I’m eager to work with the impressive people at the School and to take the research being done here to the next level.”

Professor Zhu’s focus will be on developing the School’s relationships with high-ranking universities, building on its current strengths as well as leveraging his own networks in China and around the world. His philosophy of “chasing the problem”, his research experience and many accolades reflect a passion for identifying new opportunities and being at the forefront of innovation.

Over his career, Professor Zhu has held several senior positions including the Head of School for Electrical, Mechanical and Mechatronic Systems, Director of the Centre for Green Energy and Vehicle Innovations (CGEVI) and Director of the Centre for Electrical Machines and Power Electronics (CEMPE) in the School of Electrical and Data Engineering, all at the University of Technology Sydney.

Internationally, he has held a number of honorary appointments including the University of Wisconsin-Madison College of Engineering in the USA, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt in Germany and Zhejiang University in China.

During his time as Director for CGEVI and Director for CEMPE, Professor Zhu built a strong research program of electrical power engineering covering magnetic materials, electromagnetic field analysis, electrical machines, power electronics, electrical drives, biomedical instruments, electric vehicles, renewable energy systems, and smart micro grid control.

As a researcher, Professor Zhu has been a chief investigator for numerous research projects including 11 ARC grants and 49 CRC, as well as industry projects. His long list of publications include two books, 10 book chapters, 281 refereed journal articles and 617 conference papers. In the last five years, he has published 119 refereed journal articles with 21 published in journals of impact factors above 7 and supervised more than 10 research fellows as well as visiting academics and HDR students.

A new multi-million-dollar engineering and IT precinct at the University is now underway and the Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology is leading the charge in the first stage. The exciting new development will create innovative workspaces for staff, state-of-the-art facilities for students and researchers, and support a student community living on and around campus.

Share

  • News_

    • September 27, 2018
      Sydney continues to move up in latest THE rankings

      The University of Sydney has been ranked 59 in the world in the 2019 Times Higher Education (THE) World University rankings, jumping two places since last year's rank of 61.

    • September 25, 2018
      Sisters do it for themselves

      Termite colonies have been found to thrive and reproduce without males, new research from the University of Sydney reveals.

Related articles

  • December 5, 2017
    Mai elected Foreign Member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering

    Mechanical engineer honoured for research and collaboration University of Sydney Professor and University Chair of Mechanical Engineering Yiu-Wing Mai AM has been elected a Foreign Member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE). Election to the CAE is one of the highest academic honours that China bestows on a citizen of a foreign country. Professor...

  • October 6, 2017
    Bradfield Award for University of Sydney engineer

    University of Sydney engineer Professor Xiaoke Yi has been awarded one of NSW’s top engineering honours. Professor Yi from the School of Electrical and Information Engineering in the Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies, took home the most prestigious award of the night – the NSW Government-sponsored Bradfield Award – at Engineers Australia's 2017 NSW Showcase dinner....

  • August 8, 2017
    Membrane technology engineer recognised for innovation

    Dr Qianhong She from the Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies was recently named a recipient of the 2017 North American Membrane Society (NAMS) Young Membrane Scientist Award. The prestigious award is given to early career researchers in recognition of their academic achievements, as well as their outstanding potential to become future leaders in the...